Judah Anthony

Baby Sewing

1 Comment

It took me three years (literally) to finish Judah’s “baby” quilt. The pattern wasn’t that difficult, and I enjoy sewing, but I didn’t finish it before he arrived, and after he was born I just had very little time to sew. I have a quilt I’d like to make for this new baby as well, but I didn’t want to overwhelm myself with a long-lasting sewing project again, so I have all of the quilt materials and I put them aside for another day (3 years from now).

And instead, I decided to make some very tangible baby things– a hat and pants. Why those you ask? I will not lie, it is because I found a knit fabric that I fell in love with, and those are two of the easiest baby things to make with a knit fabric. (The fabric is called “Tiny Dragons,” I mean honestly, how do you pass that up?) Iย found free patterns online, and the patterns didn’t look too difficult. I haven’t used a sewing pattern since I was probably 10 years old, so I needed something really simple ย to start with.

IMG_7213I read a review of free online baby pants patterns and picked the “Baby Got Back” pattern. I had a knit fabric, ย and I plan to cloth diaper with baby two, so this pattern seemed like a good fit.

Then I just looked for a free knot-hat tutorial, and found one that was easy to follow and looked cute. This is the one I went with.

I’ll admit the pants were a bit of a challenge for me. I’m not terribly patient, and having not worked with a pattern in many years it took me some time to get the hang of it. Also, sewing with a knit, and using the stretch stitch on my sewing machine were both new, so I had a lot to learn. The second pair came together a lot faster than the first though, and it wasn’t too difficult. I did the hats second, and they really were super easy and super fast to put together. Plus, I think they’re ridiculously adorable.

Now, I haven’t tried to wash them yet, so they may very well fall apart at the seams, but I enjoyed making them.IMG_7146

I find it remarkably rewarding to make something that I actually use. This is why it’s fun for me to make quilts, or to garden, say. I enjoy pulling something out and knowing that I put thought and effort (and probably some salty language) into making it. I love seeing Judah’s quilt beaten up and dirty on the ground, or wrapped around him as he sleeps. I enjoy eating our too-small tomatoes each summer and finding excuses to chop up our garden herbs, because it reminds me of the time that Judah and I spend outside planting, weeding, and talking to our “Tomato Gnome.”

Overall, it was a fun and manageable project for this point in pregnancy. Now we’ve just got 4.5 weeks (or so) until Baby Two arrives. And at least they’ll have a pair of pants and a hat, even if nothing else is ready!

One thought on “Baby Sewing

  1. So glad my review was helpful, and the sets turned out absolutely darling! Hope the end of pregnancy treats you well ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

